What's new

The Forza Community Cannot Decide if it Loves or Hates Motorsport

I am absolutely loving Forza Motorsport. I have been working my way toward getting all the achievements and testing it out to see how different it is from Gran Turismo 7, which I played a decent amount last year and in the run-up to Forza Motorsport’s launch. I’ll say it right now – I freaking love Forza. But I am just a novice in the sim racing community. I’m proud of my one-minute 39-second lap on Maple Valley, even though it’s nowhere close to what the pros are clocking, but I have the sim racing bug and I cannot stop playing.

However, one thing I’ve noticed is that the community is divided on its opinion of the game. One glance at Twitter (sorry, X) and you’ll either find videos and posts from fans talking about how Forza Motorsport is either a terrible game, or the best thing since sliced bread. More than one Reddit user asked if they were playing a different game from everyone else.

One criticism that frequently appears in the sim racing community is about the default controls, which I agree are frankly bizarre.There’s simply not enough nuance – which is crucial for a game like Forza – and almost every creator I’ve watched agrees that the default option is severely lacking.