Ukraine revolt update thread

Discussion in 'General' started by Wren, Jan 24, 2014.

  1. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
    The Ukrainian people are rising up against their government right now, I'll try to keep this thread up to date.

    Videos

    Livestreams
    euromajdan - stream outside of a stadium in Kiev where most of the clashes are taking place.
    espreso.tv - 24/7 live Ukrainian news, streams from different angles often.

    English speaking reporter who answers questions/comments streaming from the ground.
    Ukrainian speaking reporter streaming from the ground.

    Panning camera - Independence Square (Maidan Nezalezhnosti), protesters have been here for around two months.
    Stage camera - Independence Square stage view


    Images
    29 Images
    42 images, some are dupes
     
  2. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
    Where the protesters and police are clashing currently.

    [​IMG]

    Most recent map of occupied/assaulted administration buildings.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
    00:02 EST | 05:02 GMT | 07:02 EET
    [​IMG]



    00:12 EST | 05:12 GMT | 07:12 EET
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
    Most recent map of occupied/assaulted administration buildings.

    [​IMG]

    11:26 EST | 16:26 GMT | 18:26 EET
    KyivPost.com - Lethal "car stopper" bullets used against protesters during Hrushevskoho Street clashes (Article)
     
  5. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
    Most recent map of occupied/assaulted administration buildings.

    [​IMG]

    13:42 EST | 18:42 GMT | 20:42 EET
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
    BBC - Ukraine's President Yanukovych offers PM position to opposition leader (Article)
     
  7. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
    Mashable - Yesterday's talks with the president, it looks like it hasn't been resolved yet, will try to find updated article. (Article)
     
  8. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
    Most recent map of occupied/assaulted administration buildings.

    [​IMG]


    LEGEND:

    Red - Captured or have recognized Narodna Rada (revolutionary parliament)
    Orange - Storm attempts or blockade
    Yellow - Mass protests
    Rings - Football ultras have declared their support
    Sickle and hammer crossed over - Communist party or it's symbolic have been outlawed
     
  9. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
    BBC - The latest on the talks with the president. They interpreted his offers as a sign of weakness and are going ahead with their campaign to unseat him. (Article)
     
  10. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5

    12:37 EST | 17:37 GMT | 19:37 EET
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
    Most recent map of occupied/assaulted administration buildings.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
    Most recent map of occupied/assaulted administration buildings. (word of their twitter being hacked where I got this from so I have no idea how legit it is.)

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
    Far more detailed map of Kyiv and where things are happening.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
  15. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
    Over night on January 28 on Instytutska police erected concrete barricades.

    [​IMG]


    The concrete barricades erected on Institutska street overnight are being dimantled. The workers doing the job do not tell who had hired them. The trucks do not have license plates.

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
    Most recent map of occupied/assaulted administration buildings.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5
    BBC - Ukraine Prime Minister Azarov resigns (Article)

    Leaders of the opposition on the resignation of Mykola Azarov:

    Arseniy Yatsenyuk: “There should be a decree issued by the President. Actually, I do not want to discuss this issue now”.
    Meanwhile, Oleh Tyahnybok stated that the resignation of Mykola Azarov is the proof of the fact that the government wants to avoid the responsibility for the recent events in Ukraine.
    Sources: tsn.ua, tvi.ua
     
  18. Admin

    Admin Level 46
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    17
    Credit:
    ₹5,927.9
  19. Wren

    Wren Level 44
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    62
    Credit:
    ₹5,314.5

    Video has some fairly graphic content


    The violence seems to be escalating and the protests are definitely not dying down. Police now seem to be freely using live ammo on civilians, reports of snipers shooting people in the head and neck and also killing medics that come to help.

    BBC ARTICLE
     

Share This Page

Loading...