What's new

Judas: Gameplay Overview of BioShock Creator's Next Game

If you haven’t seen my 75-minute interview with BioShock creator Ken Levine detailing the journey he’s been on for the past decade in building something entirely new with Judas, check that out below. But if you just want to see the new gameplay footage that developer Ghost Story Games gave us to accompany that interview, I’ve got you covered right here. Check the video above.

That said, I can’t tell you any more about Judas that Ken didn’t already talk about in the interview, so as not to spoil anything for you, but I can describe what’s going on in the footage that was provided.

Let’s start right where the game does: with you being reprinted! It looks incredibly painful, and the fact that you’re being reprinted at all means that, you guessed it, you’ve been dead for some indeterminate amount of time. But I’m getting a little ahead of myself. You play as Judas, a hacker and self-taught engineer who’s part of a multi-generational trip from Earth to a new planet called Proxima Centauri aboard the colony ship called the Mayflower. The capital-M Mission is to continue the human race after departing Earth due to a bacterial plague. Also, on board this ship, you’re not particularly well-liked! See, it turns out that things went seriously sideways, and it’s all your fault.

It turns out that things went seriously sideways on the Mayflower, and it’s all your fault.